
Understanding  

Your Ticket 

 

 

Criminal 

$167  Criminal court violations (public drunk, trespassing, etc.) 

$177  Animal control violations 

$157  Failure to vaccinate animal 

$177  Failure to appear 

 

For violations that aren’t listed, call us or visit our website 

(405-297-2361 

www.okc.gov/courts 
 

………………………………………………………………………...  

 

Parking 

Metered parking is available in the area. Parking garages on 
Main Street and Sheridan Avenue are shown on the map. 

 

  

07/15 

 

The following fines and costs apply if you pay your ticket on or 
before your court date. For violations that aren't listed, call us 

or visit our website. 

 

Traffic 

$161  Speeding up to 10 mph over speed limit 

$192  Speeding 11-19 mph over speed limit 

$202  Speeding 20 mph or more over speed limit 

$202  Speeding in a residential area 

$182  Failure to yield right of way 

$202  Failure to yield right of way to emergency vehicle 

$202  Speeding in a school zone 

$157  Transporting open container of beer or alcohol 

$162  Vehicle equipment violation  

 $132 If corrected and proof shown 

$182  State driver’s license violation  

 Dismissed with proof of valid license at time of  
 citation 

$162  Improper vehicle tag display  

 $132  With proof of proper display 

$20    Seat belt violation 

$172  Changing lanes improperly 

$172  Disregarding a signal light 

$172  Failure to stop for stop sign 

$172  Improper left, right or U-turn 

$307  Driving under suspension 

$202  Failure to show state insurance         

                $152 If proof of insurance valid after date of  
 citation issued  

 Dismissed if proof of insurance valid on date   
 citation is shown within 48 hours  

 Dismissed with $88 court costs if proof of  
 insurance is valid on date of citation is shown after 
 48 hours 

$182  Failure to appear 
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Fines & Costs                         Fines & Costs 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 

700 Couch Drive • OKC, OK 73102 

(405) 297-2361, 7 am – 7 pm (M-SUN) 

www.okc.gov/courts 

The City of 

OKLAHOMA CITY 
MUNICIPAL COURT 



 

 

Paying Your Ticket 
 

Pay in Person 

Public Counter Operations 

700 Couch Drive • OKC, OK 73102 

7 am -  7 pm (M - SUN) 

See back for parking details 

…………………………………………………………… 

Pay Online 

www.okc.gov/courts 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Mail 

Enclose a copy of your ticket and write the ticket 
number on your check, cashier’s check or money 
order (do not mail cash). 
 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 

P.O. Box 26487 • OKC, OK 73126 

…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Phone 

Use your credit card to pay by phone. MasterCard, 
Visa and Discover are accepted. 
 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 

(405) 297-2361, 8 am - 5 pm (M - F) 

 

Your Court Date 

Your court date and time are written on the bottom of your 
ticket. If you choose to plead guilty or no contest to a 
judge, you must appear on or before this date and time. 
The two daily court sessions are 8 am and 1 pm, Monday 
to Friday. Check in 30 minutes before the time written on 
your ticket at the Public Counter, window No. 10, to be 
directed to the proper courtroom.  

 

Note: shorts, tank tops and electronic devices are not 
allowed in  court. 

 

Driver Improvement School 

Consider attending Driver Improvement School to have 
your ticket dismissed. You qualify if you have not taken 
Driver Improvement School within three years and your 
ticket is not past due. Fees of about $138 are due at   
signup. Schools usually cost $25-$50. Sign up at the  
Public Counter, by phone or fax. 

 

Note: If you have a commercial driver’s license or       
received a ticket while driving a commercial vehicle, it is, 
by law, reported to the state Department of Public Safety. 

 

Insurance Tickets 

If you had valid insurance for the vehicle you were driving 
when you received a ticket for failure to provide proof of 
insurance, the ticket will be dismissed without costs if you 
show proof at the Public Counter within 48 hours of    
receiving your ticket. After 48 hours, the ticket can be 
dismissed with $88 court costs. 

 

Reducible Charges 

If you got a ticket for illegal tag display or an equipment 
violation, you may be allowed to pay a reduced amount 
by presenting proof of compliance and payment at the 
Public Counter before your assigned court date.  

 

Posting Bond 

You may plead not guilty and request a trial for your case 
in person at the Public Counter. Simply post your bond at 
the Public Counter on or before the court date listed on 
your ticket. The clerk at the Public Counter can tell you 
the amount of the bond or you may call the number listed 
in this pamphlet. You can pay with cash, check, money 
order, cashier’s check or MasterCard, Visa or Discover. 

Your Trial Date 

After posting bond, you will be given a trial date and 
time.   During the trial, you will have the opportunity to 
present      testimony and any evidence to aid in your 
defense to the    complaint on file. Ask the clerk at the 
Public Counter for the Traffic/Criminal Trial Information 
brochure for a general guide to the trial process.  
 

Failure to Appear 

If you fail to pay the fine, post bond or to appear in court 
by the court date on your ticket, your fine and/or bond 
amount will be increased and additional fees may be 
added to your case. You may also be charged with a 
new charge of failure to appear, which has a fine of up 
to $500 and court costs.  
 

Continuance 

All requests for continuances are subject to approval in 
accordance with Municipal Court Procedures. If a re-
quest for a continuance is granted, a $15 fee per case 
can be assessed. 
 

Interpreters/Intérpretes 

If you require an interpreter for your trial, including 
American Sign Language, please notify us 72 hours 
before your trial date. Call (405) 297-3898 for more 
information. Si usted necesita un intérprete, llame al 
(405)0297-3898. Favor de notificar al menos 72 horas 
antes de la fecha del juicio. 
 

TDD Hearing and Speech Impaired•  

(405) 297-1710 

The courtrooms are equipped with hearing assistance 
systems. If you need this service, request a receiver 
when checking in for court at the Public Counter. 

Do I have to appear in person? 

No, you do not have to appear in court for traffic or criminal 
cases. You are required to appear in person only for Juvenile 
Court and Jury Division Court matters. Those cases cannot be 
settled by paying a fine. If you are unsure, contact the Public 
Counter 
 

What is a vicious animal citation hearing for? 
Hearings on vicious animal citations are to determine whether 
the animal should be euthanized. 
 

Who can I contact about my driver’s license? 
The state Department of Public Safety at (405) 425-2820 

 

About Your Ticket 

Your traffic or criminal ticket is a legal document 

charging you with a violation of a municipal      

ordinance. You are required to take action. The 

information provided is to help you make informed 

decisions as they relate to your ticket.  

Handling Your Ticket 

Q & A 


