
Understanding  

Your Ticket 

 

 

Criminal 
$168  Criminal court violations (public drunk, trespassing, etc.) 
$178  Animal control violations 
$158  Failure to vaccinate animal 
$178  Failure to appear 
 

For violations that aren’t listed, call us or visit our website 
(405) 297-2361 

www.okc.gov/courts 
 

………………………………………………………………………... 

 

Parking 

Metered parking is available in the area. Parking garages on 
Main Street and Sheridan Avenue are shown on the map. 
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The following fines and costs apply if you pay your ticket on or 
before your court date. For violations that aren't listed, call us 
or visit our website. 
 

Traffic 
$162  Speeding up to 10 mph over speed limit 
$193  Speeding 11-19 mph over speed limit 
$203  Speeding 20 mph or more over speed limit 
$203  Speeding in a residential area 
$183  Failure to yield right of way 
$203  Failure to yield right of way to emergency vehicle 
$203  Speeding in a school zone 
$158  Transporting open container of beer or alcohol 
$163  Vehicle equipment violation  
 $133 If corrected and proof shown 
$183  State driver’s license violation  
 Dismissed with proof of valid license at time of  
 citation 
$163  Improper vehicle tag display  
 $133  With proof of proper display 
$20    Seat belt violation 
$173  Changing lanes improperly 
$173  Disregarding a signal light 
$173  Failure to stop for stop sign 
$173  Improper left, right or U-turn 
$308  Driving under suspension 
$203  Failure to show state insurance         
                $153 If proof of insurance valid after date of  
 citation issued  
 Dismissed if proof of insurance valid on date   
 citation is shown within 48 hours  
 Dismissed with $88 court costs if proof of  
 insurance is valid on date of citation is shown after 
 48 hours 
$183  Failure to appear 
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Oklahoma City Municipal Court 
700 Couch Drive • OKC, OK 73102 

(405) 297-2361, 7 am – 7 pm (M-SUN) 
www.okc.gov/courts 

The City of 
OKLAHOMA CITY 
MUNICIPAL COURT 



 

 

Paying Your Ticket 
 

Pay in Person 
Public Counter Operations 
700 Couch Drive • OKC, OK 73102 
7 am -  7 pm (M - SUN) 
See back for parking details 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay Online 
www.okc.gov/courts 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Mail 
Enclose a copy of your ticket and write the ticket 
number on your check, cashier’s check or money 
order (do not mail cash). 
 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 
P.O. Box 26487 • OKC, OK 73126 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Phone 
Use your credit card to pay by phone. MasterCard, 
Visa and Discover are accepted. 
 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 
(405) 297-2361, 8 am - 5 pm (M - F) 

Your Court Date 
Your court date and time are written on the bottom of your 
ticket. If you choose to plead guilty or no contest to a 
judge, you must appear on or before this date and time. 
The two daily court sessions are 8 am and 1 pm, Monday 
to Friday. Check in 30 minutes before the time written on 
your ticket at the Public Counter to be directed to the 
proper courtroom.  
 

Note: shorts, tank tops and electronic devices are not 
allowed in  court. 
 

Driver Improvement School 
Consider attending Driver Improvement School to have 
your ticket dismissed. You qualify if you have not taken 
Driver Improvement School within three years and your 
ticket is not past due. Fees of about $138 are due at   
signup. Schools usually cost $25-$50. Sign up at the  
Public Counter, by phone or fax. 
 

Note: If you have a commercial driver’s license or       
received a ticket while driving a commercial vehicle, it is, 
by law, reported to the state Department of Public Safety. 
 

Insurance Tickets 
If you had valid insurance for the vehicle you were driving 
when you received a ticket for failure to provide proof of 
insurance, the ticket will be dismissed without costs if you 
show proof at the Public Counter within 48 hours of    
receiving your ticket. After 48 hours, the ticket can be 
dismissed with $88 court costs. 
 

Reducible Charges 
If you got a ticket for illegal tag display or an equipment 
violation, you may be allowed to pay a reduced amount 
by presenting proof of compliance and payment at the 
Public Counter before your assigned court date.  
 

Posting Bond 
You may plead not guilty and request a trial for your case 
in person at the Public Counter. Simply post your bond at 
the Public Counter on or before the court date listed on 
your ticket. The clerk at the Public Counter can tell you 
the amount of the bond or you may call the number listed 
in this pamphlet. You can pay with cash, check, money 
order, cashier’s check or MasterCard, Visa or Discover. 
 

Your Trial Date 
After posting bond, you will be given a trial date and time.   
During the trial, you will have the opportunity to present      
testimony and any evidence to aid in your defense to the    
complaint on file. Ask the clerk at the Public Counter for 
the Traffic/Criminal Trial Information brochure for a gen-
eral guide to the trial process.  

Failure to Appear 
If you fail to pay the fine, post bond or to appear in court 
by the court date on your ticket, your fine and/or bond 
amount will be increased and additional fees may be 
added to your case. You may also be charged with a new 
charge of failure to appear, which has a fine of up to 
$500 and court costs.  
 

Continuance 
All requests for continuances are subject to approval in 
accordance with Municipal Court Procedures. If a request 
for a continuance is granted, a $15 fee per case can be 
assessed. 
 

Interpreters/Intérpretes 
If you require an interpreter for your trial, including 
American Sign Language, please notify us 72 hours 
before your trial date. Call (405) 297-3898 for more 
information. Si usted necesita un intérprete, llame al 
(405) 297-3898. Favor de notificar al menos 72 horas 
antes de la fecha del juicio. 
 

TDD Hearing and Speech Impaired•  
(405) 297-1710 
The courtrooms are equipped with hearing assistance 
systems. If you need this service, request a receiver 
when checking in for court at the Public Counter. 

 

About Your Ticket 
Your traffic or criminal ticket is a legal document 
charging you with a violation of a municipal      
ordinance. You are required to take action. The 
information provided is to help you make informed 
decisions as they relate to your ticket.  

Handling Your Ticket 

Q & A 
Do I have to appear in person? 
No, you do not have to appear in court for traffic or criminal 
cases. You are required to appear in person only for Juvenile 
Court and Jury Division Court matters. Those cases cannot be 
settled by paying a fine. If you are unsure, contact Municipal 
Court at (405) 297-2361. 
 

What is a vicious animal citation hearing for? 
Hearings on vicious animal citations are to determine whether 
the animal should be euthanized. 
 

Who can I contact about my driver’s license? 
The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at (405) 425-2820. 


