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Oklahoma City Parks and Recreation Department Mission Statement

The mission of the Parks and Recreation Department is to provide parks, recreational, and
cultural services to the Oklahoma City residents and visitors so they can have improved health,
wellness, and quality of life.

Goals and Objectives

The Oklahoma City Parks and Recreation Youth Volleyball League is aimed to give all
participants, through involvement in practices and competitive games, the opportunity to learn
and improve the fundamentals of volleyball.

Coaches/Coaching Staff

>
>
>

The most important objective is the welfare of each individual’s participation.
Must have a rational amount of knowledge of the game of volleyball.

Will be an outstanding role model for leadership, sportsmanship, and overall good
conduct to his/her team at all times.

Will show importance of coaching on learning regulations, basic fundamentals,
encourage participation, and personal growth.

Each team may have a head coach and as assistant coach who are 18 years of age and
older.

Equipment & Uniforms

>

Will be given to each coach before the start of the season. The team is required to wear
the given uniforms which include: Top, Bottom, and Socks. All teams must wear must
wear the uniforms to each game.

Knee pads are required for all players in all age divisions.

Players may not wear objects which may cause injury or give an artificial advantage to
the player. No jewelry allowed. The head coach is responsible for ensuring that all
players are compliant before stepping onto the court. The penalty for wearing jewelry
on the court once the game has been started will be loss of ball and a point awarded to
the opposing team. If a team in violation is not serving, a point will be awarded to the
opposing team.



Court and Net Set Up

» Court Size

o Ages7-9 20'x25’

o Ages 10-12 Standard court size
» Serving Lines

o Ages7-9 10’ from the net

o Ages 10-12 15’ from the net

= Exception: Jump serving must be completed behind the back court line in all instances.

» Net Height

o Ages7-9 6’6"
o Ages10-12 6'6”
» Game Ball
o Oklahoma City Parks and Recreation will supply a game ball.
= Ages7-9 Volley lite

= Ages10-12  Volley lite

Coin Toss
» The referee will conduct a coin toss with a captain from each team. Home team will call
the toss. Winner chooses side or serve. Teams will change to the opposite court, and
the serve changes hands from the previous serving team for gams two and three.

Overhead Obstructions
All Divisions

» A basketball goal outside of the court will be considered out-of-bounds. If the rim of the
basketball goal is in the court and a ball hits it, a re-play will be called.

» A ball hitting the face of the basketball goal at the back of the court will be considered
out of play; however, if it hits the side or bottom of the goal and the referee determines
that the ball would have playable, a re-play will be called.

» A ball hitting the ceiling or an overhead obstruction above a playable area shall remain
in play provided the ball contacts the ceiling by the team that last played the ball and
the ball is legally hit next by the same team.

Linesperson
All divisions

» Each team will provide a linesperson 18 years or older.

» The lines person will be positioned at the corner of the court on the left hand back
corner opposite the server. The linesperson does not change sides during match play.

» The linesperson is not allowed to have distractions such as cell phones, pagers, children,

and etc.

The linesperson is not allowed to sit down, cheer, or coach the players during the game.

The referee has the right to overrule a linesperson at any time.

The referee has the right to remove a linesperson at any time without explanation.
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» Alinesperson will only address the referee during a dead ball and only to signal out-of-
bounds or a foot fault.
> A ball will be considered out-of-bounds if it;
o Touches the wall, objects mounted on the wall or objects on the floor outside
the court.
o Touches the floor outside of the court’s boundary lines regardless of
overhanging objects.
o Touches the net antennas.
Does not cross the net within the antennas.
o Breaks the plane of an adjacent court, goes over or touches the bleachers,
benches, officials table, etc.
= The ball is considered in if it touches any part of the court line.
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The Playing Rules
The Serve

» Teams do not rotate before their first serve.

» The player in the back right position shall hit the ball with one hand, fist or arm, either
held or after release, behind and without feet coming into contact with the serving line.
The serving line continues across the entire width of the court whether the taped line is
extended across the width or not. A player may serve anywhere behind the serving line
but within the width of the court.

» All players, except the server, must be inside the court at serve.

» The ball shall be contacted within five (5) seconds ager the referee’s signal before
serving the ball. After one warning per server, a side-out will result.

» If the ball is thrown up and the server decides not to contact the ball, the ball must drop
to the floor. The referee will blow the whistle and signal a re-serve. A new five (5)
second period will begin up on the referee’s whistle. One re-serve is allowed per term
of service, a side-out is called and point is awarded to the opposing team.

» Any player electing to jump serve must do so behind the back court line. The ball must
be contacted as the player is in the air and before landing inside of the court. If the
service area behind the back court line is less than 5/, the player may enter the court
with only 1 step.

» Aplayeris allowed to serve and make only five (5) points. After that, a referee will call a
turnover of the serve. There will be no point awarded for this turnover.

Hitting the Ball during Play

» During play, the ball may be played with an overhand or underhand pass, one-hand dig,
a block and a spike, or with any part of the body above the waist.

» Only a short contact with the ball is allowed. On an overhand pass the ball must be
contacted with both hands simultaneously. On an underhand pass, the hands must be
considered.



After receipt of the serve, a front line player has no restrictions as to legal contact of the
ball. However, a back line player, in order to spike the ball, must begin their attack
behind the ten (10) feet line may jump in the air, make contact with the ball, then has
the option to landing behind, on, or completely in front of the ten (10) feet line. A back
line player may not block the ball when standing in front of the ten (10) feet line.
Playing the ball back to the opponent on the first touch is permitted. It is suggested
however, that players be encouraged to learn how to return the ball with more than
one touch.
A maximum three (3) touches are permitted per side per play, with exception of the
touch on the block, which then permits four (4) touches. The ball must be played over
the net on the before the last permitted touch. The ball may not be contacted by the
same player twice consecutively with exception of;

o Ablock

o To save a hard-driven spike, provided there has been no “finger” action.

o A ball may not be caught, pushed, carried, lifted, or held.
If players touch the ball simultaneously at any time, it will be considered one touch. Any
player may touch the ball on the next touch provided there is another touch allowed.
This is inclusive only to the tow players that touched the ball simultaneously.

Play at the Net

Players may not touch the net except for loose hair, such as ponytails.

Players may step on or have a foot partially above the center line. No other part of the
body, i.e. hand, knee, elbow, etc. may touch or cross the center line. If a foot or any
part of the body completely clears the centerline and goes into opposing court, a
violation has occurred.

Out of Rotation

Teams found to be out of rotation order after the serve will receive a warning on the
first violation. Players will be placed in the correct order and play will resume.

A second violation will result in loss of the ball by the offending team and the award of a

point to the non-offending team. Any points scored by the incorrect server will be taken
off the score.

Line-Up

The line-up of players in serving order will be given to the scorekeeper after the coin
toss and at least five (5) minutes prior to the start of the match. This is the
responsibility of the head coach of each team.

The line-up will be in a continuous order throughout all games. When one match
finishes and the next begins, the line-up continues with one rotation so that the server
form the previous game does not start the next game.



Match Play

>

Referee Oversight

The referee will conduct the match. Any calls made by the referee will not be
guestioned during the game. A team captain may ask a referee during the game to
repeat a call or explain the call, but may not ask for justification of a call. A team captain
may also request from the referee a lineup check during the game. During the games of
a match, the decisions of the referee are final.

Mandatory Player Participation

It is the intent of Oklahoma City Parks and Recreation to enforce equal play time for all
players. This assumes that there is equal participation of players in practices and games.
If a player misses practices and/or games, the coach has the discretion to limiting play
time in games in proportions to player’s participation. Otherwise, a team may be
penalized if an equal play time game is not provided.

Scoring

Match play will consist of the best of 2 out of 3 games. The first two games will be to 21
points and the third game, if necessary, will be to 15 points.

All games will played with rally scoring where a point is scored on each play, either
defensively or offensively. There is a cap of 21 points. The first team to reach 21 points

in the first 2 games or 15 points in the third game is declared the winner of the game.

A player is allowed to serve and make only five (5) points. After that, a referee will call a
side out. There is no point awarded for this side out.

Substitutions

When rotation after a side-out or a maximum number of serves, a new player will enter
the back-row middle. The player in the service position (back-row, right) will sub out.
The rotation does not change during the match. Each player MUST be in rotation. NO
other substitutions are allowed other than for an injury.

Time Outs

There are two (2) thirty (30) second time outs allowed per game. No additional time
outs will be allowed.

If the requesting team is serving, the penalty for requesting an additional time out will
be loss of a ball and a point awarded to the opposing team. If the requesting team is
not serving, a point will be awarded to the opposing team.



>

If a player is bleeding, an official’s time out is taken. The wound must be covered for a
player to return to the court; and if blood is on anything worn by the player, it either
must be removed or replaced before the player can return to the court. If needed, any
t-shirts can be substituted.

Time allowed between games will be no more than three (3) minutes.

Third Game Play- Court Switch

Teams will remain on the same court side during the third game, if played.

Forfeit Policy

>

>

A game will be considered a forfeit if a team has less than six (6) legal players present on
the court at game time. If a team’s strength drops below six (6) players during a game,
that game is a forfeit. Any remaining games of the match are also forfeited if the team
is still under the strength after 10 minutes post game time start.

Forfeit time of the first game is game time. Forfeit time for second game is (10) minutes
after the start of game time. Forfeit of the third game is fifteen (15) minutes following

the start of game time.

The forfeiture score will be 0-21 for each game forfeited.



