
Parking Availability 

Metered parking is available in the area. Parking 
garages on Main Street and Sheridan Avenue are 

shown on the map. 

Bus Route Information 

For information about the fines and costs for your 
ticket, please visit our website at www.okc.gov/
departments/municipal-court/fines-fees.   

Do I have to appear in person? 
No, you do not have to appear in court for traffic or 
criminal cases. You are required to appear in per-
son only for Juvenile Court and Jury Division Court 
matters. Those cases cannot be settled by paying a 
fine. If you are unsure, contact Municipal Court at 
(405) 297-2361.

What is a vicious animal citation hearing for? 
Hearings on vicious animal citations are to deter-
mine whether the animal should be euthanized. 

Who can I contact about my driver’s license? 
The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at (405) 
425-2820.

What if my tag is now in compliance after       
receiving the ticket?  
Provide proof in person on or before your arraign-
ment date to receive a $30 reduction. 

What  if I have questions about my citation other 
than fines and court dates? 
Please call 297-2361 or  
email municipalcourts@okc.gov 
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Paying Your Ticket 

Pay in Person 
Public Counter Operations 
701 Couch Drive • OKC, OK 73102 
7 am -  7 pm everyday  
*except City-observed holidays
See back for parking details
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay Online 
www.okc.gov/courts 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Mail 
Enclose a copy of your ticket and write the ticket 
number on your check, cashier’s check or money 
order (do not mail cash). 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 
P.O. Box 26487 • OKC, OK 73126 
…………………………………………………………… 

Pay by Phone 
Use your credit card to pay by phone. MasterCard, 
Visa and Discover are accepted. 

Oklahoma City Municipal Court 
(405) 297-2361 | 8 am - 5 pm (M - F)
*except City-observed holidays

 

 

Your Court Date 
Your court date and time is written on the bottom of your 
ticket. To enter a plea of guilty or no contest, you must 
appear on or before your court date. Arraignment court is 
held at 8 a.m. and 1 p.m., Monday-Friday. You may at-
tend either session on or before the court date written on 
your ticket. Check in 30 minutes before court at the Pub-
lic Counter.   

Note: Inappropriate attire is not allowed. This includes shorts, 
tank tops, or men's hats, unless for religious purposes. Please 
put electronic devices on silent while in the courtroom. 

Driver Improvement School 
Driver Improvement School is an option to keep insur-
ance costs down to get an eligible ticket dismissed. You 
may be eligible if you have not taken the court approved 
driving course within three years for the Oklahoma City 
Municipal Court. Your ticket must not be past due. 
You will be required to pay an administrative fee. Driving 
school costs vary. You can sign up at the Public Counter 
and by phone. All requirements must be successfully 
completed by the due date. 

Note: If you have a commercial driver’s license or  received a 
ticket while driving a commercial vehicle, it is, by law, reported to 
the state Department of Public Safety. 

Failure to Provide Proof of Insurance 
To prevent driving license suspension for failure to pro-
vide proof of insurance tickets, you can show insurance 
proof at the Public Counter within 48 hours of receiving 
your ticket. Your insurance must have been in effect on 
the date of the ticket. This will result in your ticket being 
dismissed without costs. 
After 48 hours of receiving the ticket, you can show proof 
of insurance at the Public Counter and court costs will be 
assessed. Your insurance must have been in effect on 
the date of the ticket. 
Illegal Tag Display and Equipment Violation 
If you received a ticket for an illegal tag display or an 
equipment violation, you may be eligible to pay a reduced 
amount by presenting proof of compliance on or before 
your court date. 

Not Guilty Plea and Posting Bond 
To plead not guilty and request a trial, appear in person 
at the Public Counter on or before your court date. The 
cost to post a bond is the cost of the ticket plus a $35 
bond posting fee. Payment is required at the time of bond 
posting. 
You will be given a trial date after posting bond. 
You can pay with cash, check, money order, cashier’s 
check or MasterCard, Visa or Discover. 
Your Trial Date 
After posting bond, you will be given a trial date and time.   
During the trial, you will have the opportunity to present      
testimony and any evidence to aid in your defense to the   
complaint on file. Ask the clerk at the Public Counter for 
the Traffic/Criminal Trial Information brochure for a gen-
eral guide to the trial process.  
Failure to Take Action or Appear 
If you fail to pay the fine, post bond or appear by your 
court date, your fine and/or bond amount will be in-
creased to the maximum amount and additional fees may 
be added to your case. You may also be charged with a 
new charge of failure to appear. 
Continuance 
All requests for continuances are subject to approval in 
accordance with Municipal Court Procedures. If a request 
for a continuance is granted, a $15 fee per case can be 
assessed. 

Interpreters/Intérpretes 
If you require an interpreter for your trial, including 
American Sign Language, please notify us 72 hours 
before your trial date. Call (405) 297-3898 for more 
information. Si usted necesita un intérprete, llame al 
(405) 297-3898. Favor de notificar al menos 72 horas
antes de la fecha del juicio.

TDD Hearing and Speech Impaired•  
(405) 297-1710
The courtrooms are equipped with hearing assistance 
systems. If you need this service, request a receiver 
when checking in for court at the Public Counter. 

About Your Ticket 
Your traffic or criminal ticket is a legal document 

charging you with a violation of a municipal         
ordinance.  You are required to take action.                        
The information below provides options to            

address your ticket. 

Handling Your Ticket 


